Healthy Snack Alternatives

Lately, I’ve been into the whole “Eat healthy / Fitness thing.” I’ve been going to the gym and doing cardio every day (yay me!!) Although I’ve been eating much healthier, I could always do better. Usually, healthy alternatives to junk food require much more preparation, but I’m here to make it easy! I know, I know… It’s girl scout cookie season… I say buy that box of Thin Mints AND follow these 10 Healthy Snack Alternatives (after all, they kind of cancel each other out, right?)

  1. JUICES VS. SODA

I’m not one to really drink soda, so this is easy for me. There are countless benefits to drinking juice but, most importantly it FILLS YOU UP and makes you awake! Lets be real, soda is actually disgusting and really does nothing for you. So, next time you have the craving to drink a glass of Coke with your sand which, juice!!! There are multiple juicing places where I live, so it only takes me a two-minute drive and I’m there. Check out what places by you serve fresh juice- it will totally benefit you in the long run.

2. FRUIT BOWL VS. CHIPS

I know, this one can be hard, but hear me out… Benefits of eating chips: 0. Benefits of eating fruit: … do I even have to say? I love fruit. Make eating fruit fun by getting every color under the sun into your bowl. This one is a no-brainer. Fruit bowls are EVERYTHING. But, most importantly- they’re pretty. When you’re done, snap a pic and post it on your story.

img_5190

3. GRILLED FRUIT VS. ICE CREAM TOPPINGS

This one is a must-do. If you’re going to take anything from this post- it’s this. First, chop up pineapple and peaches (not too small.) Put them straight onto the grill until they caramelize and once their done, put them on top of a tiny bowl of vanilla ice cream. Grilled fruit is a much healthier, and tastier alternative to your typical ice-cream toppings

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

4. SMOOTHIE VS. ANYTHING?

Smoothies are an everyday thing in my house. Literally, all you need is your favorite fruits and/or vegetables and you’re good to go. They’re healthy, filling, and super easy to make! My favorite smoothie: 1 cup strawberries, 1/2 blueberries, 1 banana, 2 spoonfuls chia seeds, small handful of spinach, and a splash of orange juice OR coconut water. The great thing about smoothies is you can get them from nearly everywhere, and they’re way cheaper than ordering a pizza!

img_5084

 

5. ALMOND BUTTER TOAST + BANANA + CHIA SEEDS VS. CEREAL

This is my go-to breakfast. It’s super quick to make, filling, and you can even eat it on the go. Read about the benefits of almond butter here, and chia seeds here.

img_5109

6. ACAI BOWL VS. ANYTHING?

Acai bowls are in right now, but you already knew that. They’re too good to compare to anything, and they fill you up just as much as anything else would. All I can say on this one- GO TRY IT. And if you’ve already tried one, then next time you’re hungry, or craving something sweet, go get an acai bowl.

img_5174

7. WARM LEMON WATER + GINGER VS. COFFEE

Lets be real, if you drink coffee, then you drinkkkk coffee. Instead of going for the exact same drink every morning because you “need” it to stay awake, try out some warm lemon water. I mean, it can’t get any easier. Warm up some water, put lemon and a few pieces of cut up ginger into it. It’s basically a tea, and you’d be really surprised on how good and awake you feel. This is also a great thing to do if you’re feeling sick. (ANOTHER OPTION is to do this the night before but, with cold water. Leave your drink in the fridge overnight and drink it in the morning. Hint: The longer you wait, the more flavor it has.)

8. CARROTS & CUCUMBERS VS. BORDEM

Most of us eat when were bored, so I felt it was crucial to add this into the list. Eating carrots and cucumbers vs what you’d normally eat when you’re bored is good for a number of reasons. Reason #1: It takes a while to cut carrots and cucumbers (especially if you’re cutting them to look pretty, like I do.) So, within the cutting of the food itself, you have something to do. Reason #2: Once their all cut, its time to plate (to make it look like its from a magazine, of course) and enjoy! Carrots are filling and cucumbers are refreshing- its the best of both worlds.

img_5093

9. STIR FRY VS. FRIED FOOD

Fried food is not my thing and I love stir fry, so once again this is easy for me. Making stir fry is fun and easy, after all you can even buy the pre-made ones you just put onto the stove. Adding a protein like chicken makes it even more filling, but thats totally not a must-do.

10. SUSHI VS. BURGERS

Now, I’m going to be real with you. I just had my first real sushi from a japanese restaurant this past weekend, and I don’t know why I waited so long to try it! Sushi is filling and much healthier than most things you’d probably order from a restaurant. So next time you’re thinking of going out to dinner, think SUSHI!!!

Leave a Reply

